Search Website

Validating credentials, please wait...
  • General Inquiries 1-571-481-9307

  • Fax 1-202-315-3003



Cyber Certified Experts Program


Certified Expert Continuous Monitoring (CECM)®

Certified Expert Continuous Monitoring (CECM)®

Certified Expert Continuous Monitoring (CECM)®


Share with friends:


Successful completion of this exam will demonstrate a candidate’s understanding of the application of the Information Security Continuous Monitoring (ISCM) to federal information systems and organizations. The candidate shall demonstrate knowledge of security and privacy controls related to continuous monitoring and shall exercise their understanding of the six-steps of continuous monitoring in accordance with NIST Special Publication 800-137. It is critical for the candidate to understand ISCM definitions, roles, and responsibilities, and supporting NIST Special Publications such as NIST SP 800-37, 800-53, 800-53A, and NIST SP 800-55. The candidate shall demonstrate their ability to follow procedures for conducting assessments of the security and privacy controls that support organizational risk management processes.Candidates will have a 60 day period to complete the exam.  Candidates will have one attempt at each exam; each exam is timed.

Authoritative Sources
  • SP 800-37 Rev. 1 – Guide for Applying the Risk Management Framework to Federal Information Systems: A Security Life Cycle Approach (Primary)
  • SP 800-137 – Information Security Continuous Monitoring for Federal Information Systems and Organizations (Only as it relates to Step 6 of the RMF)

Candidates must possess at least 3 years of experience in Information Security Continuous Monitoring, Security Operations, and/or Security Assessments and Authorization (SA&A) in order to obtain the Certified Expert certificate. Those that pass the test, but do not possess the requisite experience, will be awarded the Certified Expert Associate certificate. Once the required experience is achieved, they may resubmit for the Certified Expert certificate.

Renewal: Each certification must be renewed annually; requiring 20 Professional Development Credits (PDCs) and payment of a $75 certification renewal fee.

If the exam is successfully completed prior to 2017, the candidate is considered a CCE Program Early Adopter. As a thank you, all early adopters will have their annual PDC requirement and annual fee waived on their first anniversary.

Additional details regarding PDC and renewal fee submission will be sent to all early adopters early 2017.

Renewal: Each certification must be renewed annually; requiring 20 Professional Development Credits (PDCs) and payment of a $75 certification renewal fee.

Certification Award

Once you have successfully passed the test with a 70% grade, you can obtain your certificate by submitting proof that you meet the requirements (resume or other documentation) by email to Once the requirements are verified, you will receive your certificate by email and a paper copy will be mailed to your physical address. (Please include your current physical address with your submission).

Experience Documentation Audits: All submissions are subject to an audit.

Each submission has a 30-day audit window from the date of submission.  If your submission is selected for an audit, you will be notified via email within this window. The audit notification provides detailed information on how to comply with the terms of the audit.